How to Delete Online Social Media Accounts No Longer In Use Kenya

Protecting your identity online is essential for your brand, reputation and credit worthiness, far more important than updating your Instagram and Facebook every day. Several times a year the news will cover a serious data breach of information being held by major banks, insurance companies and/or social media platforms. Once the data is taken, it can be misused or even lead to identity theft. Deleting your old social media accounts is a vital step to help ensure some measure of identity protection. It is imperative that you keep your online access to your current accounts safe and protected and delete any old accounts.

Here is a guide that will help you delete your old accounts on the most popular social media sites.

Facebook 

Moving onto the biggest social network platform of all time, Facebook, with over a billion users, keeps things simple and makes it incredibly easy for you to deactivate your account.

Once you go into the "settings" tab from the down arrow in your browser, select your Facebook information and then select delete your account and information". When you are in this menu you will go to delete your account and must add the password to confirm.

Google 

Google is the undisputed search engine leader with one of the most interconnected ecosystems. By creating one account for Google you are able to access a plethora of different applications and websites without having to create separate accounts. In order to delete your Google+ or Gmail account, you will need to delete your entire Google account.

Go to "Google account settings" and choose "delete account and services". There you will see the "delete products" option, where you can access all of your Google applications. You need to sign in to all of the websites first before you can delete your account.

Instagram 

Facebook's younger brother is possibly the most used social media platform by Millennials, according to Hootsuite. Thanks to its focus on visual communication, it is the go-to place in order to find talented artists.

Deleting your account is very simple and takes little time to properly accomplish. While you can manage your privacy settings using the mobile app, you must go through an internet browser in order to delete your account. Simply go to the "delete your account page", and there you will have to provide a reason for deleting your account. Once you provide the reason, you will provide your password and then select the option to permanently delete the account.

Linked In 

LinkedIn is the social network for professionals looking for new opportunities to connect with other professionals and grow their business and careers. If you are on the platform, the profile should be complete and up-to-date. If you are no longer using the platform, delete the account. At the top right corner of any page of LinkedIn, you will first have to access the "privacy and settings" tab. From there, choose the "account" tab and then select closing your LinkedIn account. You will have to give your feedback and verify your account before you can delete it. From there you will see a post telling you of the consequences of deleting your account and then the final page which will be for confirmation.

Pinterest 

Pinterest is a web-based pinboard or bulletin board, a place to bookmark images found online. To delete your Pinterest account you will first have to go to the triple dot icon on the website and select the "edit settings" option. From there you will have to go down to the "account" page and select "deactivate account". From there you will click "yes" to receive an email, which you need to open and follow in order to permanently delete your account.

Snapchat 

Snapchat is a service that, for a short time, rivaled Facebook and was the go-to social media app for many people. As is the case with Instagram, you cannot delete your account from the mobile app; you must delete it from a proper browser.

From the website browser, go to "delete your account" and enter your username and password. Your account does not delete instantly and it takes about 30 days to remove all of the information.

Twitter 

Regardless of how famous your really are, everyone has a Twitter handle. Many people follow and get their news from the tweets of everyone from legitimate newsmakers and media organizations to raving fans of our favorite sport teams. Deleting your Twitter account is incredibly easy. It takes at least 30 days for all of your tweets to get deleted. Select "settings and privacy" from the form on the menu and go into the account tab. From there you will have to deactivate your account and enter your password to confirm the action.

Tumblr 

Tumblr probably has one of the most bustling communities on the internet, which is also why it is very easy for anyone to delete their account. While you are able to delete your account, the content other people have reposted will remain available on the site. To delete your account, click on the person-shaped icon on the website, and go to "settings". There select "delete account", entering your email and password to confirm the process. Tumblr also states that it takes them a few days to properly wipe all of your content.

Whatsapp 

Whatsapp is a free messaging app to send Voice over IP (VoIP), images, video calls and documents using a mobile device. To delete your account, simply open your Whatsapp and go to the "settings" menu. From there, select account and go to "Delete my account", after which you will have to enter your phone number in international code and tap "delete".

YouTube 

YouTube is second only to Facebook as a social media platform, owned by Alphabet, the owner the parent company of Google. A well-managed channel can help to improve website ratings. A channel not in use should be deleted. Deleting your channel from the largest video-sharing platform on the internet is quite simple. You will first have to sign into your YouTube account and go to your advanced settings. From there, choose "delete channel" and then opt for "delete channel permanently". This will launch a prompt where you can confirm if you want to delete your channel or would still like to keep it.

Final Words of Advice 

According to industry experts and a recent article in Consumer Reports, it is a best practice to reduce the risk of having your personal and professional data being misused or stolen by keep your current accounts secure and deleting accounts no longer in use.

Was this answer helpful?

 Print this Article

Also Read

4 Steps To See Results In Your Internet Marketing Business Kenya

To start of I'd like to ask you a question... Are you making money online? I'm not asking if...

Responsive Web Design: Why Is It Important? Kenya

To compete today, every business must have an online marketing strategy. The core of your...

Tips To Keep In Mind While Registering Your Domain Name Kenya

Here are a few tips and considerations for you to keep in mind when it comes to domain name...

The Best Way to Learn Something New Kenya

When learning something new, the quickest easiest most successful way is to find a great coach...

Benefits of Affiliate Marketing Kenya

Many entrepreneurs are looking for different ways to make extra income, especially online. Some...


Our official partners